Business society honors inductees

October 15, 2010 Community Print Print

Thirteen new student members joined the ranks of the Kappa Beta Delta international business honor society in a ceremony on campus Oct. 8.

The Beta Epsilon Chapter of KBD has among the most difficult membership standards for student organizations on campus, said Germain Pichop, business department chair and KBD faculty sponsor.

To be accepted, “students must have a 3.5 grade point average and be in the top 20 percent of their class,” Pichop said.

He said KBD is the only business honor society for two-year colleges and is accredited by the Association of Collegiate Business Schools and Programs.

Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs Greg Gardner spoke of the importance of education and service in his keynote address.

He charged the group to discover “that one thing” which would drive them to strive for success.

Pichop spoke about the meaning of the honor society’s Greek letters, colors and symbols.

He contributed to the theme of service in business and advised the inductees that beyond their education and professional skills, “you have to be a leader.”

Former KBD president Tino Ceballos Jr. encouraged students to participate in civic engagement and public service.

Ceballos said he completed 139 hours of volunteer service over the course of a 12-month period. In April he earned the President’s Volunteer Service Award from President Barack Obama.

The OCCC graduate is continuing his studies at the college in preparation for continuing his education in political science, said Michael Southerland, current KBD president.

Ceballos will attend a four-year university in Oklahoma to earn his bachelor’s degree.

KBD president Michael Southerland led the induction ceremonies.

Inducted student members are: Crystal N. Springsteen, Scotti R. Collins, Annette M. Dillingham, Phillip L. McDonald, Michelle A. Hascall, Nathan A. Gardner, Kody A. Payne, Karen E. Perea, Donna F. Kline, MacKenzie L. Peterson, Nancy A. Allen, Cue T. Nguyen and Pamela J. Fields.

Pichop gave the oath of allegiance and inducted three honorary faculty members: Michael Machiorlatti, business and economics; Myra A. Decker, accounting; and Anita J. Williams, banking and finance.

Southerland said Kappa Beta Delta is proud of the three honorees, saying, “their credentials speak for themselves.”

Pichop was recently asked to join the board of directors of KBD at the national level, said KBD vice-president and ceremony emcee Sarah Haggard.

For more information, contact Pichop at 405-682-7582 or e-mail

Kappa Beta Delta also has a bulletin board that has information and events posted, located outside the Accounting Lab, room 2R1, in the Main Building.

Write a Reply or Comment