Students acknowledged at awards ceremony
More than 130 students received awards at the 39th Annual Student Awards Ceremony held April 24 in the Visual and Performing Arts Center.

Certificates of appreciation and achievement, along with volunteer and honor awards, were presented by various professors and sponsors.

Students who were awarded with certificates of appreciation and achievement, along with the president’s award for excellence were nominated by faculty for academic achievement and being an outstanding student.

Awards and recipients are as follows:

President’s Award for Excellence:

• Arts Division:

Journalism and Broadcasting: Journalism Emphasis: Lauren Daniel.


• Business Division:

Business: Roman Alcantara.

Automotive Technology:

Gary Beebe.


• Chemistry and Biological Sciences Division:

Biology: Dawn Brown.

Chemistry: Suifen Dong.


• English and Humanities


Literature: Iesha Cobert.

Literature: Kimberly Ray.


• Health Professions


Speech-Language Pathology Assistant: Diana Harrison.

Physical Therapy Assistant: Deborah Williams.


Information Technology Division:

Computer Science transferring to UCO:

Garrett Clement.

Computer-Aided Technology/Design: Makyla Tipken.


Math, Engineering and Physical Science Division:

Engineering: Anthony Norton.


Division of Social Sciences

Political Science: Lisa Shaw.


Certificates of


Advocates of Peace:

Derek Scarsella

Black Student Association: Victoria Washington

Cyber Club: Ginger Ellis

Future Alumni Network: Lisa Lasater

Health Professions Club: Kiziah Winn

Hispanic Organization to Promote Education:

Andres Perilla

International Student

Association: Linus Morgan

Kappa Beta Delta:

Miles Chaney

Leading Individuals for Equality: Lisa Shaw

Military Student Association: LaDonna Wieland

Nursing Student Association: April Brooks

Oklahoma Biotechnology Association: David Rochat

Phi Theta Kappa:

Natalie Flaming

Pioneer: Bryce McElhaney

Psi Beta: Jessica Stevens

Psychology Club:

Karli Smith

Student Emergency Medical

Science Association:

David Bingham

Speech Language Pathology Assistant Student

Organization: Raquel Rosa

Student Physical Therapist Assistant Organization:

Sarah Ellison.


Certificates of


• Arts Division:

Graphic Communications/Multimedia: Hannah Blackford.

Film and Video Production: Aaron Chenoweth.

Public Speaking:

Abigail Connell.

Journalism and


Brianna Hogan.

Journalism and Broadcasting: Journalism Emphasis: Jorge Krzyzaniak.

Theater Arts:

Anthony Landers.

Graphic Communications/Print Media:

Margarita Lopez-Luera.

Spanish: Sarah Moore.

Visual Arts: Lauren Romero.

French: Benjamin Smith.

Journalism and Broadcasting/Public Relations:

Carlton Thompson.

Graphic Communications/Photography: Amber Tobin.


• Business Division:

Certificate of Mastery/

General Office Support:

Susan M. Atwell.

Business: Miles Chaney

Business: Kristi Fields.

Administrative Office

Technology/Office Specialist: Shawna V. Rosenfelt.

Certificate of Mastery/Legal Office Procedures:

Shawna V. Rosenfelt.

Certificate of Mastery/Medical Office Administration: Pamula J. Smith.

GM Automotive Service

Educational Program:

Colton Ramsey.

Automotive Technician

Internship Program:

Marty Williams.


• Chemistry and Biological Sciences Division:

Pre-Allied Health: Jessica Gaddis.

Pre-Baccalaureate Nursing: Alison Lanphere.

Pre-Medicine: Phuong Lee.

Chemistry: Mary Katherine Maraschick Randolph.

Biology: Alyssa Stewart.

Pre-Pharmacy: Cong Vu.

Pre-Dentistry: Dat T. Vu.


• English and Humanities



Miranda Carlisle.

Diversified Studies:

Rachael Colbart.

Diversified Studies:

Sena Golden.

Philosophy: Joseph Hughes.

Liberal Studies:

Hanna Odum.

Diversified Studies:

Annette Waters.


Tawanna Whinnery.


• Health Professions


Speech Language Pathology Assistant: Sandy Arnold.

Nursing: April Brooks.

Occupational Therapy

Assistant: Jessica Gard.

Physical Therapist Assistant: Brittany Sexton.

Emergency Medical Sciences:

Ricardo Torres.


• Information Technology


Computer Science Transferring to OU: Richard Barnes.

Computer Science Transferring to UCO: Brandan Cobb.

Computer-Aided Technology/Geographic Information System: Andrew Crowell.

Computer-Aided Technology/Digital Media Design: Heather Haywood.

Computer Science – Management Information Systems: Robert Johnson.

Certificate of Mastery;

Computer Network Support:

Stephen Keel.


Technology/Game Design:

Joseph Keller.


Technology/Computer-Aided Design: Gwangmin Kim.

Computer Science;

Computer Programming:

Allira Kimren.

Computer Science –

Computer System Support:

Patrick Money.

Computer-Aided Technology/Computer Animation: Nathan Scroggins.

Computer Science – Cyber

Information Security:

Cody Thornton.

Certificate of Mastery –

Computer System Support:

Jaime Trevino

Math, Engineering and Physical Science Division:

Physics: Fnu Roshan Mathews.

Mathematics: Dragon Tran.

Engineering: Christopher Walker.


• Social Sciences Division:

Political Science: Monica Piros.


Honors Graduates:

Jennafer Duvall, Samuel Herrera, Sarah Landon, Morgan Massey, Kimberly Ray, Lisa Shaw.



Campus Impact and Civic Honors are given to students who fulfill a certain number of volunteer hours either through the school or outside organizations.

Civic Honors:

Armando Arellano, Damaris Argueta, Carrie Arter, Katie Axtell, Shannon Bell, Theron Blunck, Kenyon Bonds, Paula Broome, Abiebatou Chatman, Katherine Chavez, Terra Corley, Jennafer Duvall, Stephanie Gordon, Robert Helton.

Brianna Hogan, Iris Killough, Andrews Kwei, Sarah Landon, Jennyfer Livingston, Lesley Luna, Andres Perilla, Mariah Rivera, Jennifer Rorex, Brittany Sexton, Lisa Shaw, April Shirzai, Pamula Smith, Jessica Walker, Deborah Williams, Regan Wickwire-Sapp, Bobbie Wilson.

Campus Impact:

Andrews Kwei


The President’s Volunteer Service Award is awarded to individuals who complete a number of volunteer hours within a 12-month time frame.

President’s Volunteer Service Award:

Bronze Award: Theron Blunck, Iris Killough, Sarah Landon, Bobbie Wilson.

Silver Award: Dominique Hall.

Gold Award: Robert Helton.


Student English Essay Awards:

1st place: Sarah Wigham.

2nd place: Monica Wood.

3rd place: Kaylee Smith.

Honorable Mention:

Priscila Esquivel.

To contact Katie Axtell, email

Leave comment