Students presented awards at recent ceremony

1 | 2 | 3

More than 100 students earned special recognition April 15 at the 25th Annual Student Awards Ceremony.

Top honors went to 17 scholars who received the President’s Award for Excellence.

Other categories included Certificates of Appreciation, Student Organization Awards, Civic Honors Awards, Student English Essay Awards, Academic Awards and Certificates of Achievement.


The President’s Awards recognized the efforts of students who have excelled inside and outside the classroom and generally have maintained a GPA of 3.5 or higher after completing at least 30 college credits, said Liz Largent, Student Development dean.

Literature major Nhu Nguyen, 27, was chosen to receive the President’s Award of Excellence in the Arts and Humanities Division. Originally from Vietnam, Nguyen will graduate with honors in May.

“I wanted go to college and excel in my courses because something bothered me about not having a degree,” he said. “I have had a job for two years but felt like I needed more.”

Nguyen said he will continue his education at the University of Central Oklahoma with a major in English.

Another President’s Award winner was 27-year-old Kelvin David Amarquaye, a premed major from the West African country of Ghana. Chosen by the Science and Mathematics Division, Amarquaye was commended for his involvement with the Health Professions Club and for his summer research internships at an Oklahoma City biotechnology firm. He will graduate with honors in May.

“I took honors classes because I wanted to get a deeper understanding of the concepts,” Amarquaye said. “Getting one-on-one activity with the professor really allows you to ask more questions.”

Amarquaye said he will continue his education at the University of Oklahoma where he will major in biochemistry.

Certificates of Achievement went to 58 students, recognized by their professors for being outstanding in their academic degree program.

Among them was Tobra Crownover, 29, of Norman. She was recognized for being the most outstanding student in Legal Office Procedure of the Administrative Office Technology program.

“I desired to better myself and have more opportunity,” Crownover said. “I was motivated by my professors’ patience and willingness to answer questions.”

Crownover is a soon-to-be graduate with plans to be a legal secretary. She said she loves interaction with people.

Other President’s Award for Excellence winners are:

Arts and Humanities: LaDonna Elliston, humanities; Patricia Hauck, diversified studies; Mitchell McFarland, theater arts.

Business: Matthew Crofford, business; Jeremy Elkins, automotive technology; Kody Payne, business management; and Lindsay Sherwood, business.

Health Professions: Mike Bruce, physical therapist assistant; Jennifer Hader, nursing; and Melissa Vice, emergency medical sciences.

Technology: Amber Frantz, computer technology-game design, and Earl Premont, computer science-cyber/information security.

Mathematics: Matthew Adair, pre-pharmacy, and William Layden, biology.

Social Sciences: Annalyn Gill, political science.

Certificates of Achievement recipients are:

Arts and Humanities: Theresa Ashley, modern languages; Randall Baum, CGOM-print media; Aaron Chenoweth, film and video; Christopher Conklin, humanities; Angela Curtis, theater arts; Amanda Freeman, visual arts; Tawny Hacker, Spanish; Melissa Jones, broadcasting; Michelle Korenblit, GCOM-multimedia; Magdalena Martinez, pre-education; Christine Pickett, public relations; Nick Pinkerton, liberal studies; Janet Reznicek, GCOM-photo; Janet Skannal, diversified studies; Cadmus Sorrell, humanities-philosophy; Joey Stipek, journalism.

Business: Daniel Adame, automotive technology; David Addison, business; Barbara Andros, banking and finance; Darla Beck, AAS-accounting; Pamela Fields, administrative office technology-office specialist; Tiffany Howard, general office support; Phillip McDonald, business; Daniel Murphy, GM Automotive Service Education Program; Andre Omena, automotive technology internship program; Kody Payne, business management; Grant Swayze, GM Automotive Service Education Program; Ida Manuela Nkwinkwa, business.

Health Professions: Ray Espy, emergency medical services; Bill Grayson, emergency medical services; Kristin Ring, physical therapist assistant; Carl Tucker, nursing.

Technology: Adeola Adebayo, geographic information system; Paula Boatner, web design and development; Kevin Brannan, web design and development; Jeff Brown, cyber information security; Jeffrey Campbell, computer science; Luis Damazo, computer-aided technology-game design; Steve Damazo, computer-aided technology-game design; Tierney Eden, computer-aided technology-multimedia; Willis Knight, computer-aided technology-computer animation; Manish Manandhar, computer science; Brandon Roberts, computer-aided design; Bryan Sekine, computer animation; Brandon Warner, computer-aided design.

Mathematics: Khalid Alzubi, pre-dentistry; Prognanwita Barua, biotechnology; Joseph Kidwell, mathematics; William Layden, biology; Vivian Nguyen, pre-pharmacy; Hanna Pastor, biology; Ahmed Salous, pre-medicine; Stuardo Trigueros, chemistry; Edward Wilkinson, physics.

Social Sciences: Mark Burgess, political science; Angela Lykins, sociology; Mary Taylor, psychology.

Students who will graduate with honors were recognized with a golden stole to wear at graduation. They are Kelvin David Amarquaye, Taylor Barnett, Ida Manuela Nkwinkwa, Jennifer Bohn, Celina Pang, Amanda Freeman, Jessica Pickle, David Low, Mark Smith and Nhu Nguyen.

Winners of the student English essay awards are:

English Composition II: Edvin Coyoy, first place; Nathan Steinman, second; Samantha Huereca, third.

English Composition I: Rachel Morrison, first; Amanda Owens, second; Amanda Lindsey, third. College Writing II: Christina Forney, first, and Rebecca Cass, second.

Pioneer Certificate of Appreciation went to Joey Stipek, Pioneer student newspaper editor.


Leave comment