Commencement ceremony honors graduates

June 3, 2011 Feature Print Print

1 | 2 | 3 | 4

May 13 marked the date OCCC graduates walked across the stage at the Cox Convention Center to receive their diplomas.The night included more than just students. But faculty, regents, staff, and other members of the community also came to honor the class of 2011.


Following the pre-commencement concert, performed by the OCCC Jazz Band, English professor and Faculty Association Chair Chris Verschage greeted the faculty and graduates.

Ben Brown, OCCC Board of Regents chair, welcomed graduates and then introduced each member of the Board.

After a performance by the Symphonic Community Choir during a musical interlude, Oklahoma Secretary of Commerce Dave Lopez gave the commencement address.

After much suspense, President Paul Sechrist announced the faculty winner of the President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching which he presented to physics professor Tad Thurston.

Regents Ben Brown, Lenora Burdine, Teresa Moisant, Tony J. Tyler, Mike Voorhees, James R. White and Devry R. Youngblood presented diplomas following the President’s award.

In conclusion, Regent Lenora Burdine gave the Benediction.

Write a Reply or Comment